I love Bono – even more now!

Image

I’ve always loved U2, especially their old stuff.  Back in the ’80s and ’90s I really loved their music.  It often had religious and even Christian overtones.

Some years ago, on a now-defunct old blog of mine, I wrote a piece very critical of Bono.  He had claimed, I believe at a Presidential prayer breakfast, that Christ’s main purpose in coming was dealing with and helping those in poverty.  He was wrong, and now he appears to be seeing the light – at least regarding economics.  Check this out…it’s pretty funny…

Bono is also a Christian (see here, here, and here). He is an admirer of the work of C.S. Lewis and used Lewis’s book The Screwtape Letters in a music video for the song “Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me, Kill Me,” the theme song for the film, Batman Forever. More recently, he has indicated in an interview with Jim Daly at Focus on the Family that Lewis might inspire the next U2 album:

 

Bono: It’s very annoying following this Person of Christ around [chuckling], because He’s very demanding of your life.

Daly: It’s very hard.

Bono: And it’s hopeless … trying to keep up with it.

Daly: In fact, Bono, C. S. Lewis has a great quote which I love: “When a man is getting better, he understands more and more clearly the evil that’s left in him. When a man is getting worse, he understands his own badness less and less.” That is powerful, isn’t it?

Bono: Yeah, it might … that could turn up on the next U2 album, but I won’t give him or you any credit.

It’s encouraging to me to see a guy I admired and then kinda despised for a time finally coming around.  The truth…it shall
set all of us free…if we let it.

I was there when they crucified my Lord
I held the scabbard when the soldier drew his sword
I threw the dice when they pierced His side
But I’ve seen love conquer the great divide
     U2 with B.B. King,  When Love Comes to Town

R.J.

P.S.  I feel like I kinda know Bono personally.  My wife’s cousin married a guy who actually met him at the Gerald R. Ford airport in Grand Rapids.  <grin>  I will be forever jealous.  <grin>  I would LOVE to sit down for an hour or four and talk
with this guy. 

Be sure to check out the short video clip embedded in the article below.  Capitalism certainly took 4 Irish boys from poverty, didn’t it?  <grin>  LiveAid, FarmAid and We Are The World…where are they now?  But capitalism…that thing keeps the world going ’round and ’round now doesn’t it?

Bono:  “Capitalism takes more people out of poverty than aid”
http://blog.independent.org/2013/08/12/bono-capitalism-takes-more-people-out-of-poverty-than-aid/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

