The Definition of Stupid

mr coffee stupid 2

Our fairly old Mr. Coffee coffeemaker is starting to go on the fritz, so I went to their website to see what’s out there.  This is what I found.

A smartphone-enabled coffeemaker!  You can fill it with water, put some coffee in there but wait! Don’t hit the BREW button.  You can walk down the street or travel across the country or go to China if you want and start that brew process from your Apple or Android phone!

I don’t really know why you would set up the coffeemaker and not make coffee right now.  It takes all of what, five minutes to brew some coffee? 

I don’t know about you but I don’t want to be upgrading the firmware or downloading new drivers for my coffee pot.  <grin>  And how long until some neighborhood geek hacks the thing and starts your coffee at 3:00 in the morning.  And, do I really want the NSA to know when I’m making coffee?

R.J. FROM WORK:  “Marci, I can’t ping the coffee pot.  Either the router is down, the power is out at our house, or the coffeemaker died.”

Technology…it’s just getting stupider.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

