I Love My New Lightbulbs!

Green Creative BR30

Well, I got my 6 pack of the Green Creative Titanium LED Series BR30-E26-8W-2700K bulbs today.  <grin>

I put 4 of them in the kitchen, going from 300 Watts down to 32 Watts and the light looks very much the same.

They’re a pretty strange design.  If you look at the pic, that space is open under the bulb. 
The bulbs we had were PAR 40, which stands for parabolic aluminized reflector.  They had a flat surface where these are a bit rounder and stick out of the recessed can a little bit, but if I wanted PAR bulbs they run about $18.  These were about $12 each.  I am not Martha Stewart and who stares into light bulbs anyway?

On the side of the box it states that these bulbs will last 22.8 years based on 3 hours per day, which is not gonna happen.  The lights in the kitchen are on nearly all day.  I’ll be very pleased if they last 2 years and I already created a spreadsheet to track their longevity.  <grin>

Another thing about these LED bulbs is they throw out a heck of a lot less heat than the old ones.  You could fry an egg on the old 75W bulbs and who knows how much of that heat ended up in my attic.

I still need to get another 7 or so to complete the job but will probably wait until the others burn out as they’re not used all that much.

I bought them from EarthLED and I am very happy with the service so far. 
Hopefully I’ll send another update in 2 or 3 years when one burns out.  <LOL>

Al Gore would be proud of me.

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

