A Bit of Analysis on the Romney Thing…

 

Mitt Romney

This morning I checked out Twitter to get some headlines and I saw that Mitt Romney was going to hold a teleconference with his supporters.  He’s been at the top of the polls amongst contenders for the Republican nomination, but I thought to myself, “He’s gonna quit.”  Sure enough he did that today.

I thought that Mitt would bail out and throw his support behind Jeb Bush, but evidently he’s not doing that.  I understand that Mr. Romney is having dinner tonight with Chris Christie.  What?

When I think of Chris Christie I always think he’s a Democrat because he practically is.  He’s no good in the same way John McCain is no good and I cannot imagine the big money folks throwing their support behind this guy.

I am very glad though that Romney doesn’t appear to be a Jeb Bush fan because I certainly am not.  We’ve already had a father and son as President and the whole dynasty thing makes me think of royalty and a rigged game.  Of all three Bushes, Jeb is probably the least conservative of all and neither George HW nor his son George W. were what you would call strong conservatives.  If Jeb Bush is the nominee, I will sit out the vote for President.  Not gonna do it. 

Personally I like Ted Cruz.  I also like Bobby Jindal.  Ben Carson is great as well, but I saw the good doctor on Fox News the other night with Megyn Kelly and Ben just does not have the kind of fire in the belly a Presidential candidate needs to have.  He’s very smart, very articulate, but he is so soft-spoken that I just don’t think he can energize people.  He’s black, and it’s sad that that even matters, but look what happened with Obama.  “First black President” and all that garbage.  Evidently we have a ways to go until the Rev. Martin Luther King Jr.’s advice is heeded in this country – a time when people are judged not by the color of their skin but by the content of their character.

It’s not too hard, but I’ll go ahead and predict that Hillary Clinton will not be the nominee for the Democrats. She’s done, and the Clinton name has got to go.  If I had been her adviser I would have recommended that she challenge Obama back in 2012, but she didn’t and now her time has come and gone.  Too bad.  <grin>  How quickly people forget Monica Lewinsky’s stained dress and how Hillary should have left Bill, but because of her lust for power, she simply stood by her man.  Any normal woman would have dumped Bill immediately, but Hillary is no normal woman.  <grin>

Back in 2010 I got a phone call from a guy in the Libertarian Party asking me if I would be willing to put my name on the ballot for State Representative.  I had recently become a card-carrying Libertarian and said “Sure.”, but I told him I wasn’t gonna make a serious run of things.  Our boys were quite young and I really didn’t have time to knock on doors and all that jazz.  I met the man at a restaurant and we talked for over an hour and it was very interesting.  The Libertarians just wanted a name on the ballot and it happened to be mine in this district.

I didn’t lift a finger and somehow got 773 votes!  I don’t even know 773 people.  <grin>  Dave Agema crushed me and the Democrat, but now Dave has become persona non grata in the party for some of his Facebook posts and the Republicans want him gone. 

After that election I thought about what a mess it would have been if I had – by some miracle – been elected.  The thought of working in Lansing with those folks just turned my stomach.  I’ve had some bad jobs but that would be the worst.  Yeah, 96K a year for a part-time job is nice, but I don’t think that’s for me.  I do have one thing going for me.  I have a clean birth certificate!  <LOL>

What we need in a leader is a reluctant leader.  Someone who doesn’t crave the power, the money or the attention, and would serve the United States in order to better the country.  That’s what I’m looking for in a candidate and it’s not an easy task.

I was just discussing this stuff with my mom and we have nearly two years until a new President is inaugurated.  I think I’m just gonna ignore everything about this process until the RNC convention in the summer of 2016.  Too many things can happen between now and then.

One piece of advice, if I might be so bold.  Please do not let anyone tell you that voting for a third-party candidate or for someone who “cannot” win stop you from voting for him or her.  We should all vote for the person we believe best equipped to do the job, whether or not the oddsmakers think it’s a horrible long shot.  How awesome is it and how many millions of people around the world wish they had the privilege we have in this country to choose our leaders?

We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.

The good thing in all this is that finding someone better than Obama will be easy.  You cannot find anyone worse.  The problem is that the man got RE-ELECTED in 2012!!! 

To all my Christian peeps I would strongly suggest that we pray for those in authority.  Christians have the privilege and also the burden of being citizens of two kingdoms – Christ’s kingdom and this earth’s various kingdoms.  We have responsibilities in both but we need to remember that while we must render unto Caesar that which is Caesar’s, like the folks from Hebrew National hot dogs, we answer to a “higher authority”.  <LOL>  God’s will is certainly gonna be done and while I want the best for America, if the worst should happen, hey, it’s all good in the end.

It will be very interesting to see how things play out – to say the least.

This entry was posted in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

