Why I’m DONE Following the Tigers

closets are for clothes

Tigers will host first LGBT Pride Night June 3
http://www.detroitnews.com/story/sports/2015/04/06/tigers-lgbt-comerica-park/25387009/

That night’s game coincides with Motor City Pride, which is June 6 and 7 at Hart Plaza in Detroit.

LGBT stands for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender for those of you in Loma Linda.  Baseball, hot dogs, apple pie and LGBT.

I’ve been a pretty big baseball fan all my life, but the story above, which I read this morning, marks the end of an error.   The term “fan” is derived from “fanatic” and I certainly ain’t a fan of this nonsense. The only thing I remain a fanatic about anymore is the Lord Jesus Christ.  Nothing else even comes close.

I almost gave up baseball a few years ago after learning of of the salary paid to Prince Fielder. 

Corporations ruin everything.  They lay out their enticements…entertainment, fun…jobs…and all the while they’re incrementally working things into their program that force you to make a decision.  I’ve made mine.

How does a family attending the game on June 3 explain to their children what’s going on at the old ball park? 

“Dad, what is all this about?”

“Really?  Then why are we here?”

“I don’t know, son.”

 

25 Thus he overthrew those cities and the entire plain, destroying all those living in the cities—and also the vegetation in the land. 26 But Lot’s wife looked back, and she became a pillar of salt. Genesis 19:25-26

 

I’m turning my back on some 40 years of following Detroit Tigers baseball.  Summer nights on the front porch listening to games on the radio with my mom and dad, Ernie Harwell, Paul Carey…there was a time when I’d bend over backwards to catch a Tigers game.  I shall not bend over forward.

Things will only get worse.  Every Christian will reach his or her boiling point and I’ve reached mine. 

“But Arjay!” you might say, “It’s only one game!”  Yes, but…

Don’t you know that a little yeast leavens the whole batch of dough?   1 Corinthians 5:6b

Sara Groves explains this all very nicely in her excellent song, Painting Pictures of Egypt.

I’ve been painting pictures of Egypt
Leaving out what it lacks
The future feels so hard and I want to go back
But the places that used to fit me
Cannot hold the things I’ve learned
And those roads were closed off to me
While my back was turned

That Old English “D” stands for “dung”, at least for me.  I might have to tune in on June 3 to see how they present this thing, but as for the rest of it, I’m LONG GONE!

This entry was posted in American Culture, Christianity, Detroit, Religion in America. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

