The Cult of the Dog

I drafted this on June 13 but haven’t sent it as it’s sure to disturb a few people, but in light of the revelations regarding Planned Parenthood, I have to.

I’m not anti-dog or anti-pet, but I’m trying to figure out when dogs went from being pets to being idols in this country.

Dogs are pretty awesome creatures.  My dad owned several German Shepherds when I was very young, but they turned on him when I came along and he got rid of them.  My sister and I had a dog for about 14 years of our childhood.  We also had gerbils and goldfish.  Pets are great.  Dogs are great, but I just don’t get how they’ve been elevated to such a status symbol in our culture.  For many, they are clearly idols.  The same can be said of cats.  I owned two of those as well.  I have to say dogs are far superior to cats.  <grin>

Was it Paris Hilton?  Did she start this thing?  Dog as accessory.  Dog as status symbol.

paris hilton dog

Below are a few Bible verses that mention dogs.  They’re not idolized in Scripture by any means:

Psalm 22:16
Dogs surround me,
a pack of villains encircles me;
they pierce[e] my hands and my feet.

Matthew 7:6
“Do not give dogs what is sacred; do not throw your pearls to pigs. If you do, they may trample them under their feet, and turn and tear you to pieces.

Revelation 22:15
Outside are the dogs, those who practice magic arts, the sexually immoral, the murderers, the idolaters and everyone who loves and practices falsehood.

 

whiskers resort and pet spa

WHISKERS RESORT AND PET SPA.  NICER THAN SOME HOTELS I’VE BEEN IN

We do it with our cars, with our spouses, with our children, with all of our possessions.  We take something that is a blessing, something that is useful and turn it into far more than it should be. 

I look at that picture above from the pet spa and I think about children in Syria, or Iraq, or
Egypt who will sleep in FAR humbler situations tonight.  Should we sleep tonight while men, women, and children sleep in open fields while dogs are pampered in excessive luxury?

Dogs are extremely beneficial to us – search-and-rescue, K-9 units, hunting, companionship – but at the end of the day, they serve us, not the other way around.  My tools go into a toolbox when I’m finished with them.  I’ve never put my adjustable wrench or screwdriver up for the night in a hotel.

Come to think of it, Jesus is kinda like a dog.  You can neglect him all day, mistreat him, ignore him, but when you’re ready for some lovin’, there he is, licking your face so to speak, jumping all over you in love and affection – abuses forgotten and forgiven – not repaying evil with evil but with love.

God created dogs.  Should we worship the creature or the Creator?

This entry was posted in American Culture, Christianity. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

